Virginia Association of Education Opportunity Program Personnel (VAEOPP) 

The Virginia Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel (VAEOPP) was founded in 1975.  TRiO Personnel in Virginia saw the need to create an alliance among all TRiO Programs within the state in order to collaborate their efforts in educating Virginians, state politicians, and national politicians about the work of TRIO Programs. As an active Virginia TRiO community member, plan to visit this site regularly. The more you know, the more involved you will want to become. VAEOPP is a strong voice for TRiO students and staff in Virginia.

Purpose and Objectives

The Virginia Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel, Inc.  shall provide a forum for its members to define the problems and needs of Virginia citizens who may be essentially categorized as persons with disabilities and/or persons who are educationally, culturally, and/or economically disadvantaged.

 

The Association shall coordinate the efforts of its membership in meeting the needs of eligible persons and shall work toward expanding and improving their educational and occupational opportunities.

 

The Association shall provide the mechanics for the dissemination of information that might provide a basis for the design and implementations of policy decisions. 

 

The Association shall also plan and implement training sessions and other professional development activities for TRIO personnel.

 

The Corporation is organized exclusively for charitable, educational, religious or scientific purposes within the meaning of Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

VAEOPP’s member institutions provide grant aid and researched based direct services to their respective program participants that effectively improve secondary school graduation rates, increase college matriculation, persistence and degree completion rates, and encourage low income, first generation, and students with documented physical or learning disabilities to pursue graduate and professional school. VAEOPP facilitates its members’ work through the provision of professional development opportunities for TRIO staff, by supporting annual and on-going advocacy initiatives, and by awarding scholarships to program participants through a competitive application process.

 

Our Programs

Talent Search

Student Support Services

Upward Bound (Classic, Veterans, Math & Science)

Educational Opportunity Center (EOC)

DESIGN

Ronald Mcnair

 

Meet The Board Members

The VAEOPP Board consists of Officers and Program Representatives, and their contact information is listed below:

President

Sarah Williams – Director

Lord Fairfax Community College

Student Support Services

swilliams@lfcc.edu

 

President – Elect

Michelle Bair – Advisor

Virginia Commonwealth University

Student Support Services

bairmc@vcu.edu

 

Past – President

Charlotte Mowery – Director

Wytheville Community College

Student Support Services

cmowery@wcc.vccs.edu

 

Secretary

Jessica Ketron – Director

Mountain Empire Community College

SSS & TS

jketron@mecc.edu

 

Assistant Secretary

Kemper Edwards – Counselor

Mountain Empire Community College

Student Support Services

kedwards@mecc.edu

 

Treasurer

Adam Moore – Program Coordinator

UVA at Wise

Upward Bound

jam5bt@uvawise.edu

 

Assistant Treasurer

Maria Whited – Counselor

Wytheville Community College

Student Support Services

mwhited@wcc.vccs.edu

Program Representatives

 

Educational Opportunity Center

Camille Younger – Educational Specialist

Danville Community College

cyounger@dcc.vccs.edu

 

Student Support Services

Dr. Mike Henry – Director

Southwest Virginia Community College

mike.henry@sw.edu

 

Upward Bound

Elizabeth Honaker – Counselor Southwest Virginia Community College

elizabeth.honaker@sw.edu

 

Talent Search

Keonte Owens – Counselor

Virginia State University

kowens@vsu.edu

 

McNair

Michelle Rodriguez – Academic Coordinator

Hampton University

michelle.rodriguez@hampton.edu

 

Our Committees

 

Archives

Marcia Mitchell – Director

UVA Wise

Student Support Services

Myb3u@uvawise.edu

 

Awards and Recognitions

Sarah Williams – Director

Lord Fairfax Community College

Student Support Services

swilliams@lfcc.edu

 

Communications/Technology

Passion Studivant – Director

Old Dominion University

Student Support Services

pstudiva@odu.edu

 

Development

Lisa Woliver – Office Manager

Mountain Empire Community College

Talent Search

lwolliver@mecc.edu

 

Financial Affairs

Sharon Harris – Director

Danville Community College

Educational Opportunity Center

sharris@dcc.vccs.edu

 

Legislative

Kristy Casstevens – Director

DSLCC

Student Support Services

kcasstevens@dslcc.edu

 

Membership

Whitney Wells – Counselor

UVA Wise

Student Support Services

Wew3x@uvawise.edu

 

Nominations and Elections

Christie Hardbarger

DSLCC

Educational Talent Search

chardbarger@dslcc.edu

 

Scholarship

Elizabeth Honaker - Counselor

Upward Bound

South Western Community College

elizabeth.honaker@sw.edu

 

Time and Place

Christie Hardbarger

DSLCC

Educational Talent Search

chardbarger@dslcc.edu

 

TRiO Achiever

Maria Whited - Counselor

Wytheville Community College

Student Support Services

mwhited@wcc.vccs.edu


 

 

Adhoc Committees

 

Emerging Leaders

Michelle Bair - Advisor

Virginia Commonwealth University

Student Support Services

bairmc@vcu.edu


 

New Personnel

Saralynn Goergen - Coordinator Educational Support Services

Thomas Nelson Community College

Student Support Services

goergens@tncc.edu

 

Alumni

Jessica Phillips - Administrative Assistant

Wytheville Community College

Student Support Services

jphillips@wcc.vccs.edu

 

VAEOPP.png
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© Copyright 2019 by VAEOPP

Designed by 757Danielle.com

VAEOPP.png

Contact Us